Tom’s Infinite Playlist

Leaving the office after another long day preparing for the Marathon, I find myself empty as I walk to the train station, my mind and body used up by the constant rush of trying to accomplish too many things all at once. If there were not something to calm my stressed and hyperactive brain, I don’t think I could go on.

For me, what’s always kept me sane and inspires me to carry on has been music. I’ve been a drummer since I was 14 (though less so in recent years) and music has always pulsed through me. Not just any music will do; being a musician means you have an opinion, but it’s always a mystery to me just what will spark my interest at one time. Something usually obsesses me and the weeks leading up to the Marathon have been no exception.

Here’s some of what I’m listening to on my train rides to/from the office:

Portishead – The Rip
Godspeed! You Black Emperor – Moya
Grachan Moncur III – The Coaster
Can – Moonshake
John Coltrane – Jupiter
Brian Eno – Mother Wale Eyeless
Stars of the Lid – The Evil that Never Arrived
Keith Jarrett – Prism
Radio Birdman – Die Like April
Miles Davis – Spanish Key

Working at my desk, I’m still wondering if my co-workers notice that my iPhone quietly plays “Bloom,” the Brian Eno & Peter Chilvers generative ambient music application most of the day. They better get used to it, as hearing its tiny chimes is what’s keeping me sane!

Let’s hear from others, runners and NYRR staffers, about the playlists that keep them going!

Tom – Race Scoring

2 Responses to Tom’s Infinite Playlist

  1. California Dan says:

    when running, I respond best to upbeat, fast paced music. Recent runs have included the following.
    Paul Okenfold-Ready Steady Go
    U2-City of Blinding Lights
    Red Hot Chili Peppers-Snow
    Foo Fighters-Everlong
    Kanye West-Stronger
    Linkin Park-Numb

  2. Ryan says:

    Does anyone know what the name of the song/artist is of the inspiration video for the NYC marathon? The song that starts it out.

Leave a Reply

