We Work, You Run

It is 9:00 PM on Friday night and I have been working since 4:50 a.m. Not up since 4:50 a.m. BUT working since 4:50 a.m. I am still not done. I need to secure the finisher water for the Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff in Central Park; I need to make sure generators are refueled so that the telephone and computer network people have power to work in the morning. I have to stop and get coffee for one of our security guards. Getting coffee for a security guard isn’t necessarily a Marathon related job but it is important. It’s co-worker welfare (the Marine in me calls this Troop Welfare).

Troop welfare and mission accomplishment are the twin engines that drive me, tirelessly and tiredly, relentlessly and probably at time recklessly; though never so much as to compromise safety. Safety relates directly to troop welfare. Am I talking in circles? Hell yes, but then I am tired.

Hold that train.

My job is to safely and quickly get the races set up in time for your (the runners) arrival. The goal is for seamless set up so that you don’t even notice it. It doesn’t happen without wrinkles, hitches, blow-ups, a few tears, laughter and a good dose of self-satisfaction. With all modesty I think we do it as good as anyone and better than most.

I am here, there, and everywhere long before you are awake…and again after you have finished the race. You won’t see me while you are running but if you look you will see evidence of my hard work; the water, Gatorade, course delineation, hay bales, heat sheets, finisher medals…blah blah, blah blah.

I am the Event Department Warehouse…I work, so YOU can run.

This is a snapshot of me after the 2008 NYC ½.

3 Responses to We Work, You Run

  1. Lori says:

    Have you considered an auction?

    You do a great job and get it done in style!

  2. Andrew says:

    You guys do an amazing job! Thanks for taking such good care of us runners!

  3. Linda says:

    Sometime when you are not busy (ha ha) take more photos of the ware house, your walking route to Hector’s etc, so we know what your life looks like.

Leave a Reply

