Weather or Not

Have you started obsessing about the weather?

I have, and I’m not even running the freakin’ marathon. Every year I try to hold off on checking the forecast until a week to go, but this year I just couldn’t resist taking a peek today, nine days out. For those of you possessing slightly more self-control than I do, I’ll refrain from sharing the forecast with you.

I guess I’m obsessing more than I usually do because we have just had WAY too many Perfect Marathon Days lately. You know, 48 degrees, clear, and calm—ideal conditions for setting a PR (and not too bad for hanging out in front of a bar on First Avenue, either). And the pessimist in me thinks that it’s just not possible that these perfect conditions can persist all the way through November 2. As I did my run this morning, I thought wow, I’m glad I don’t have to taper on a day like today!

But taper you must, and although this is not a Daily Tip reminding you to take your taper seriously, I will point you in the direction of the Daily Tips, which have been put together this year by my amazing colleague R Dubs and are chock-full of all sorts of pre-race advice on tapering and just about every other marathon-related topic.

Enjoy the weather, and don’t you dare look at the weather forecast until at least five minutes from now.

-Gordon

One Response to Weather or Not

  1. Laura DiMarino says:

    At 11am this morning…..I posted a comment in the “outerloop groups” (a local running groups) blog sharing the weather forcast for next Sunday. Since you didn’t share I will not either. Nice to know there are other people out there thinking the same thing! Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

